Jevents 2.x (Free Access)

Uploading a calendar from file?

Discuss JEvents 2.x for Joomla 1.5-2.5 here - club members can use the special club forum for faster response times.
Forum rules
When requesting support please follow these steps:

1. Update all JEvents add on's first, via the Joomla! Updater
2. Copy and Paste the JEvents Support Information from the JEvents Control Panel.
3. If you get a 500 error OR white page, enable Maximum Error Reporting in Joomla! Global Config and visit the page again, this should give you a more detailed error and help us provide a prompt response.

Postby PlusOn3 » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:15 pm

I am new to JEvents and to Joomla.

I have a peculiar problem that I am not sure how to solve. For my website, I will have a lot of entries in the calendar (likely thousands) and I would like to know if there is a way to put these events in a database (MySQL, Excel, etc?) and have them automatically uploaded to the calendar.

I see that there is a way to upload a calendar from a file but I am not sure how to work this feature. Like how the file should be formatted, what file type, and all that. Also, I would like to have different events loaded into different categories. I will be having 3 sub-categories under 1 parent category.

I don't know if I need to create different files for each category and upload them differently somehow that way.

I am really just not sure where I need to start to get this working. I browsed the forums and wasn't able to find any info that could help me really. I hope I have provided enough information for someone to be able to help me.

Thanks in Advance,
Tyler
PlusOn3

Postby carcam » Fri Mar 02, 2012 9:04 pm

Hi Tyler,
I know that it can be a bit overwhelming at first glance, but step by step you'll get everything done easily ;o).

First of all I think this document will help you to understand a bit better JEvents:

http://www.jevents.net/en/jevents-15-to ... uick-start