Jevents 2.x (Free Access)

SOLVED - Footer navigation shows as expanded list

Discuss JEvents 2.x for Joomla 1.5-2.5 here - club members can use the special club forum for faster response times.
Forum rules
When requesting support please follow these steps:

1. Update all JEvents add on's first, via the Joomla! Updater
2. Copy and Paste the JEvents Support Information from the JEvents Control Panel.
3. If you get a 500 error OR white page, enable Maximum Error Reporting in Joomla! Global Config and visit the page again, this should give you a more detailed error and help us provide a prompt response.

Postby tmillns » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:06 pm

Hi,
I'm using v 2.0.10 on Joomla 1.7.
On the See by Year view the footer paging navigation expands.

Please see this image:
http://www.tremorcreative.com/jevents/Capture.PNG

It happens for other templates too (beez etc.), so don't believe it's my custom template.css.

With exactly the same template.css file it displays fine in Joomla 1.5. (but I now need to be in 1.7).

Can you shed any light please?
As a starter...
In 1.5 the list-footer div just contains links, whereas in 1.7 the list-footer div contains li tags.

Many thanks,
Tom
tmillns
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:45 am

Postby Tonyp » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:19 pm

Hello Tom,

This is down to your site templates css, it over rides the pagnation format. You should be able to fix this using css. or a more complex Template over ride.

Use firefox and firebug to locate the code which is affected.

Regards
Tony
---------------------------------------
Feel free to PM me if you would like Custom Installs or Joomla! related work for a competitive quote.

User avatar
Tonyp
Team Staff
 
Posts: 23769
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Isle of Man

Postby tmillns » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:33 pm

Thanks Tony.
I'm not convinced that's the answer though - it happens for all the templates that come with Joomla 1.7!?

Have been using Firebug and can only deduce that Joomla 1.5 and 1.7 are creating the code differently. Assume this is PHP rather than CSS? Please see the differences here:

Joomla 1.5 uses a basic div and links...
http://www.tremorcreative.com/jevents/joomla15.PNG
Joomla 1.7 uses an unordered list...
http://www.tremorcreative.com/jevents/joomla17.PNG

Do you think I need to track down the PHP generating this code?
tmillns
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:45 am

Postby Tonyp » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:51 pm

Hello,

I have reviewed this and it is actually Joomla causing the problem see:

Code: Select all
   protected function _list_render($list)
   {
      // Reverse output rendering for right-to-left display.
      $html = '<ul>';
      $html .= '<li class="pagination-start">'.$list['start']['data'].'</li>';
      $html .= '<li class="pagination-prev">'.$list['previous']['data'].'</li>';
      foreach($list['pages'] as $page) {
         $html .= '<li>'.$page['data'].'</li>';
      }
      $html .= '<li class="pagination-next">'. $list['next']['data'].'</li>';
      $html .= '<li class="pagination-end">'. $list['end']['data'].'</li>';
      $html .= '</ul>';

      return $html;
   }


In:
libraries/joomla/html/pagination.php

You can edit accordingly and have it displayed the way you want. However make a clear note for when you upgrade as chances are it will be over ridden.

Regards
Tony
---------------------------------------
Feel free to PM me if you would like Custom Installs or Joomla! related work for a competitive quote.

User avatar
Tonyp
Team Staff
 
Posts: 23769
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Isle of Man

Postby tmillns » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:11 pm

Awesome. Fixed!

Overwrote function _list_render($list) in Joomla 1.7 with the old Joomla 1.5 version.

Pagination works again !! :)

Thanks so much.
T
tmillns
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:45 am

Postby tmillns » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:13 pm

PS. If anyone needs the old Joomla 1.5 version it's here:

function _list_render($list)
{
// Initialize variables
$html = null;

// Reverse output rendering for right-to-left display
$html .= '&lt;&lt; ';
$html .= $list['start']['data'];
$html .= ' &lt; ';
$html .= $list['previous']['data'];
foreach( $list['pages'] as $page ) {
$html .= ' '.$page['data'];
}
$html .= ' '. $list['next']['data'];
$html .= ' &gt;';
$html .= ' '. $list['end']['data'];
$html .= ' &gt;&gt;';

return $html;
}
tmillns
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:45 am

Postby jperl » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:02 pm

Don't mean to hijack post or reopen solved one, but I have same issue. Tried replacing text in php file. Display is correct, but functionality is messed up. If I click on next or a page number, it takes me back to the month view calendar. I'm am still new to jevents, php, and joomla so can someone please help.
http://72.167.247.68/calendar/index.php
Thanks
Jason
jperl
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 6:04 pm

Postby Tonyp » Thu Dec 15, 2011 7:32 am

Hello,

Firstly, make sure you are copying the code exactly! missing a } off or putting it in the wrong place will cause errors.

Regards
Tony
---------------------------------------
Feel free to PM me if you would like Custom Installs or Joomla! related work for a competitive quote.

User avatar
Tonyp
Team Staff
 
Posts: 23769
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 9:12 pm
Location: Isle of Man


Return to Jevents 2.x (Free Access)

cron
  • Who is online
  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered and 0 hidden (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 94 on Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:33 am
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users