JEvents 1.4

Export 1.4.3 data on 1.5 site to 1.5.4 on 1.5.21 site

Postby eddie_konczal » Tue Oct 05, 2010 8:56 pm

We are migrating content from one Joomla site (running 1.5.21 in legacy mode with JEvents 1.4.3) to another site (running 1.5.21 natively with JEvents version: v1.5.4).

Is it possible to do this using the iCal import/export? Or via any other method?

* PHP version: 5.2.5
* Joomla! version: v1.5.20
* JEvents version: v1.5.4; 1.4.3
* Web Server software: Apache/2.2.3
* Server Operating system: Linux/SUSE
* Database version: 5.0.26
* memory_limit from your phpinfo: 128M
* Web browser and version: Multiple (usually Firefox 3.6.10 or Mozilla Seamonkey 2.0.8)
eddie_konczal
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:48 pm

Postby Geraint » Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:22 am

the only way would be to install version 1.5.4 on the old site, run the migration and then export from version 1.5.4. You could then uninstall version 1.5.4 if you didn't want to complete the upgrade of the old site.
JEvents Club members can get priority forum support at the Support Forum. As well as access to a variety of custom JEvents addons and benefits. Join the JEvents club today!
User avatar
Geraint
 
Posts: 42781
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:14 pm

Postby eddie_konczal » Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:04 pm

Thanks, I have done that. (It's nice that 1.4.3 and 1.5 can run side-by-side :D ). I installed 1.5.4 on the old site and imported the legacy events from Events 1.4.3. I set up the JEvents iCal Export as a menu item, and saved the events calendar to an .ical file. Now, I am not sure how to import the ical on the destination site. Events 1.5.4 is installed there as well.

Thanks,
Eddie
eddie_konczal
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:48 pm

Postby Geraint » Thu Oct 07, 2010 11:04 am

Create a new calendar in the backend of JEvents and choose a file import type.
JEvents Club members can get priority forum support at the Support Forum. As well as access to a variety of custom JEvents addons and benefits. Join the JEvents club today!
User avatar
Geraint
 
Posts: 42781
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:14 pm

Postby eddie_konczal » Fri Oct 08, 2010 3:23 pm

Thanks, that worked! Now, I am trying to set the imported calendar as the default but don't see how to do that in "Manage Calenders"
eddie_konczal
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:48 pm

Postby eddie_konczal » Fri Oct 08, 2010 7:01 pm

Also, when I export the events from the original site, I can only select 2010 and 2011 - is there a way to have it go back further?
eddie_konczal
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:48 pm

Postby Geraint » Sat Oct 09, 2010 10:20 am

In JEvents 1.5.5 you can select all the years where there are events.

This is available to club members now and will be releases to non-members in about 1 week from now.
JEvents Club members can get priority forum support at the Support Forum. As well as access to a variety of custom JEvents addons and benefits. Join the JEvents club today!
User avatar
Geraint
 
Posts: 42781
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 6:14 pm


Return to JEvents 1.4

  • Who is online
  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • In total there is 1 user online :: 1 registered and 0 hidden (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 94 on Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:33 am
  • Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot]